RHB Singapore Cup 2012 Draw

The draw for the RHB Singapore Cup 2012 was held in the heart of the city of Bugis Junction on a warm Sunday afternoon.

Players and staffs from S.League teams were present at the fountain area, with Guest-of-Honour, Mr Zainudin Nordin, President of Football Association of Singapore, together with representatives of RHB Bank Berhad gracing the event.

A total of 16 teams will feature in this year’s competition. Out of the 13 S.League teams, Courts Young Lions and Harimau Muda will not participate in this year’s RHB Singapore Cup, as they will be preparing for the AFC Under-22 Asian Cup qualifiers in June. However, Harimau Muda will be sending their ‘B’ team for the competition.

4 other foreign teams have accepted the invitation to participate in this year’s competition. They are:

  • Loyala Meralco Sparks FC from the Philippines, playing in the First Division of the United Football League, the Philippines’ semi-professional football league
  • KBZ FC from Myanmar, playing in the Myanmar National League (Professional League)
  • Yotha FC from Laos, playing in the Lao League, the top football division in Laos
  • Phnom Penh Crown FC from Cambodia, playing in the Cambodian League Championship

Hosted by ESPNSTAR Sports presenter, Colette Wong, the event started off with a kiddies futsal kickabout between two teams of Saints FC from the St Andrew’s Junior School. Saints FC is sponsored by RHB Bank since 2009 to provide football opportunities for students.

Next, the S.League SuperGals thrilled the spectators with K-pop dance.

Mr Zainudin then addressed the crowd, thanking RHB Bank for their support to local football for the past 7 years, and their sponsorship to the Singapore Cup which will run till next year, 2013.

Mr Jason Wong, RHB Bank Singapore Country Head, explained to the crowd on his company’s dedication in their support to local football, as football exemplifies teamwork, passion and strategy, which are strong practices they value.

The spectators were then treated to some amazing performances by the Urban Street Team with their freestyle football tricks.

Finally, everyone was held in suspense no more as the draw for the Cup competition commenced. However, instead of the traditional drawing of lots, each of the 12 participating S.League teams sent a representing player to a ball juggling competition. The teams were then seeded based on the length of time each player juggled the ball without letting it fall to the ground.

Yutaka Nishi of Albirex Niigata Singapore held the ball for the longest without dropping it till the end of the five-minute limit, earning his team the top seed of the draw.

Based on the ranks obtained from the ball juggling competition, each team was placed in pre-determined slots their ranks corresponded to.  The 4 invited foreign teams were drawn lots into the 13th-16th slots.

The event ended with another performance by the S.League SuperGals.

The Preliminary Rounds of RHB Singapore Cup 2012 will be held from 14-21 May, the quarter-finals from 2-9 Jul, the semi-finals from 1-7 Oct, and the Finals on 28 Oct.

The dates and venues of the respectively match-up in the Preliminary Rounds below.

Singapore Armed Forces FC vs Balestier Khalsa FC
14 May 2012 (Mon), 07:45PM
Choa Chu Kang Stadium

Albirex Niigata (S) FC vs Yotha FC
15 May 2012 (Tue), 07:45PM
Jurong East Stadium

Tampines Rovers FC vs Phnom Penh Crown FC
16 May 2012 (Wed), 07:45PM
Clementi Stadium

Brunei DPMM FC vs Home United FC
17 May 2012 (Thu), 07:45PM
Yishun Stadium

Loyola Meralco Sparks FC vs Geylang United FC
18 May 2012 (Fri), 07:45PM
Jalan Besar Stadium

KBZ FC vs Woodlands Wellington FC
19 May 2012 (Sat), 07:45PM
Jalan Besar Stadium

Gombak United FC vs Harimau Muda B
20 May 2012 (Sun), 07:45PM
Jurong West Stadium

Tanjong Pagar United FC vs Hougang United FC
20 May 2012 (Sun), 07:45PM
Queenstown Stadium